Picture
After falling in love with the craft of quilling back in October I couldn't wait to receive my official quilling tool and papers! I was using different papers that were just around the house. These included everything from plain white computer paper to thicker scrapbooking card stock. Using these materials did work, but it was incredibly time consuming because I needed to cut the strips before being able to begin. In quilling there are different widths of the paper strips depending on the project. The most common being 1/8", which is what I was replicating in cutting my own. I was elated when my quilling supplies finally came in the mail! I ordered a multi-coloured pack of the papers and the 'twirly-mo-bob'. The actual tool is known as a 'slotted tool', but I just find my name a tad bit more fun.

I have been a little busy with life these last few weeks and haven't been able to experiment as much as I would like to. So this evening I decided to get back to it and create a little something. Below is a flower that took me about half an hour to make. It consists of 6 of the teardrop shape, 1 loose circle, and 3 leaf shapes. I am still getting used to using the actual quilling tool and pinching the paper correctly, but it is surprisingly easy to master. What I find great about this type of crafting is that it is incredibly easy to just make. By this I mean that ones you know the basic shapes and techniques you can create any shape, object, or design. There is no need to follow a pattern or instructions, though there are many available if you are trying to make something specific. Playing with the swirls and arranging them in different ways until something appears to you is just so calming. I speak for myself in this, for I know that not everyone would love to spin strip of paper. But I do hope that anyone reading this just takes some time to pursue there passions and what puts a smile on their face. As an artistic person I love the escape that a craft or piece of art can offer. I personally can just play my favourite music, grab some paper and glue and put my love into the swirling of the rainbow.
Enjoy the little things and get a lil' creative!




Leave a Reply.